RE: [PIUG List] E-mail spoofing - apologies

From: Alan <aengel_at_paterra.com>
Date: Mon, 16 Jun 2008 22:56:37 +0900

People who receive these spoofed emails should complain to their own ISPs o=
r mail administrators.

There is a setting in email servers that tells the server to reject emails =
when the IP address of the sending email server does not match the IP addre=
sses of the domain name in the email address. I have this setting on in ou=
r mail server and have received none of the spoofed emails. (Because of th=
is setting in combination with a feature called 'greylisting,' I receive li=
ttle spam even though my email address is widely available on the Internet.)

Alan Engel
Paterra, Inc.
Suite A24, 2-1-6 Sengen, Tsukuba
Ibaraki 305-0047 Japan
Email: aengel_at_paterra.com
 
 
-----Original Message-----
From: Stephen Adams [mailto:stevea_at_magister.co.uk]
Sent: Monday, June 16, 2008 6:08 PM
To: PIUG Discussion List @ Listbox
Subject: [PIUG List] E-mail spoofing - apologies

Dear colleagues,
My personal e-mail address (spelt out at bottom of this message) has
been the subject of widespread spoofing over the weekend 14-15 June. I
have returned to the office to find approximately 1,200 replies from
e-mail administrator software and firewall/security systems, rejecting
"my" unsolicited messages on a variety of unsavoury topics.

My ISP tells me there is very little that I can do to prevent this
practice - once my e-mail is in the public domain, it may get hijacked
in this way.

I am sorry if your company or e-mail account has been affected by
unsolicited e-mails purporting to originate from me. From the point of
view of my own business, I am reluctant to change my long-established
e-mail address, but I may have to review this if this level of spoofing
persists. In the meantime, I will retain the existing address, but you
should be aware of the possibility that your e-mail administrator may
have decided to black-list this address as a source of spam. Should you
become aware that you are no longer seeing genuine messages from me,
when you are expecting them in the course of normal business, please
check with your spam filter and/or IT departments to see whether I am
being blocked.

Thanks
Stephen Adams

--
Stephen Adams
Magister Ltd.
Crown House, 231 Kings Road, Reading, RG1 4LS, GB
Tel: +44 (0)118 966 6520
Fax: +44 (0)118 966 6620
E-mail: stevea_at_magister.co.uk (replace _at_ by @ to use)
Website : http://www.magister.co.uk

Registered in England and Wales. Company No. 3407685




-------------------------------------------
---------------------------------------------------------------------
PIUG ® -- Celebrating Our 20th Anniversary
PIUG 2008 Annual Conference: http://www.piug.org/2008/an08meet.php

PIUG Discussion List @ Listbox
List owner: Patent Information Users' Group Inc., http://www.piug.org
List rules and guidelines: http://www.piug.org/list.php
List admins: piug_discussion_list-owner(at)v2(dot)listbox(dot)com



Received on Wed Aug 06 2008 - 00:14:24

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0 : Thu Nov 20 2008 - 07:03:18